Department of Mathematics

Van Vleck Hall, 480 Lincoln Drive, Madison, WI

Alumnus Ben Kane Honored with prestigious Young Scholar Award

Ben Kane (Ph.D., 2007, Advisor: Tonghai Yang) has won the prestigious Hong Kong Mathematic Society Young Scholar Award.   He is cited for his fundamental contributions to number theory, especially on the theory of meromorphic modular forms and polar harmonic modular forms. As two of many beautiful applications of his joint work with Kathrin Bringmann, the authors proved a Ramanujan type formula for the Fourier coefficients of any meromorphic modular form of negative weight, and gave an explicit construction of meromorphic modular forms of weight 0 as sums of polar harmonic forms. Ben is at Hong Kong University.  Ben was one of three young mathematicians cited, along with Eric Chung of Chinese University of Hong Kong, and Xianpeng Hu of City University of Hong Kong. 

UW-Madison Department of Mathematics
Van Vleck Hall
480 Lincoln Drive
Madison, WI  53706

(608) 263-3054

Contact Us

Got a question about
accessibility, content
or structure of this website?