NTSGrad Spring 2011

From Math
Jump to: navigation, search

Number Theory Graduate Student Seminar, University of Wisconsin-Madison

  • When: Tuesdays at 2:30pm
  • Where: Van Vleck Hall B105 (or possibly B129)


The purpose of this seminar is to have a talk on each Tuesday by a graduate student to help orient ourselves for the Number Theory Seminar talk on the following Thursday. These talks should be aimed at beginning graduate students, and should try to explain some of the background, terminology, and ideas for the Thursday talk.

Spring 2011 Semester

Date Speaker Title (click to see abstract)
January 18 (Tue.)
Organizational meeting
January 25 (Tue.)
Silas Johnson
Introduction to Hodge Structures and the Mumford-Tate group
February 1 (Tue.)
Mike Woodbury
TBA
February 8 (Tue.)
Evan Dummit
An introduction to Stark's conjecture
February 15 (Tue.)
Daniel Ross
TBA
February 22 (Tue.)
Lalit Jain
TBA
March 1 (Tue.)
Luanlei Zhao
Intro to Jacob forms
March 8 (Tue.)
Marton Hablicsek
TBA
March 15 (Tue.) No seminar (spring break)
March 22 (Tue.)
Yueke Hu
TBA
March 29 (Tue.)
Rachel Davis
TBA
April 5 (Tue.)
Timur Nezhmetdinov
TBA
April 12 (Tue.) No Talk
April 19 (Tue.)
Andrew Bridy
TBA
April 26 (Tue.)
Jonathan Blackhurst
Polynomials of the Bifurcation Points of the Logistic Map


Organizer contact information

David Brown:

Bryden Cais:




The Fall 2010 NTS Grad page can be found here. For the current semester, click here.


Return to the Number Theory Seminar Page

Return to the Algebra Group Page