Difference between revisions of "NTS Fall 2011"

From UW-Math Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Fall 2011 Semester)
(Fall 2011 Semester)
Line 75: Line 75:
 
|-  
 
|-  
 
| bgcolor="#E0E0E0"| December 15 (Thurs.)
 
| bgcolor="#E0E0E0"| December 15 (Thurs.)
| bgcolor="#F0B0B0"| Shamgar Gurevich <br> (Madison)
+
| bgcolor="#F0B0B0"| [http://www.math.wisc.edu/~shamgar/ Shamgar Gurevich] <br> (Madison)
 
| bgcolor="#BCE2FE"|[[NTS Fall 2011/Abstracts | <font color="black"><em> Quadratic reciprocity and the sign of the Gauss sum via the finite Weil representation </em></font>]]
 
| bgcolor="#BCE2FE"|[[NTS Fall 2011/Abstracts | <font color="black"><em> Quadratic reciprocity and the sign of the Gauss sum via the finite Weil representation </em></font>]]
 
|}
 
|}

Revision as of 17:31, 28 August 2011

Number Theory – Representation Theory Seminar, University of Wisconsin–Madison


Fall 2011 Semester

Date Speaker Title (click to see abstract)
September 8 (Thurs.) Alexander Fish
(Madison)
Solvability of Diophantine equations within dynamically defined subsets of N
September 15 (Thurs.) Chung Pang Mok
(McMaster)
Galois representation associated to cusp forms on GL(2) over CM fields
September 22 (Thurs.) Yifeng Liu
(Columbia U.)
Problem and Solution
September 29 (Thurs.) Nigel Boston
(Madison)
Problem and Solution
October 6 (Thurs.) Zhiwei Yun
(MIT)
Problem and Solution
October 13 (Thurs.) Melanie Matchett Wood
(Madison)
The probability that a curve over a finite field is smooth
October 20 (Thurs.) Jie Ling
(UW-Madison)
Problem and Solution
October 27 (Thurs.) Zev Klagsbrun
(Madison)
Problem and Solution
November 3 (Thurs.) Who
(from where)
Problem and Solution
November 10 (Thurs.) Luanlei Zhao
(UW-Madison)
Problem and Solution
November 17 (Thurs.) Robert Harron
(Madison)
Problem and Solution
November 24 (Thurs.) No seminar
(Thanksgiving)
Thanksgiving
December 1 (Thurs.) Andrei Calderaru
(Madison)
Problem and Solution
December 8 (Thurs.) Xinwen Zhu
(Harvard)
Problem and Solution
December 15 (Thurs.) Shamgar Gurevich
(Madison)
Quadratic reciprocity and the sign of the Gauss sum via the finite Weil representation


Organizer contact information

Shamgar Gurevich

Robert Harron

Zev Klagsbrun

Melanie Matchett Wood



Also of interest is the Grad student seminar which meets on Tuesdays.
Next semester's seminar page is here. Last semester's seminar page is here.


Return to the Algebra Group Page