Difference between revisions of "NTS Fall 2011"

From UW-Math Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Organizer contact information)
(Spring 2012 Semester)
Line 93: Line 93:
 
| bgcolor="#BCD2EE" width="300" align="center"|'''Title (click to see abstract)'''
 
| bgcolor="#BCD2EE" width="300" align="center"|'''Title (click to see abstract)'''
 
|-
 
|-
| bgcolor="#E0E0E0"| September 8 (Thurs.)
+
| bgcolor="#E0E0E0"| April 19 (Thurs.)
| bgcolor="#F0B0B0"|  [http://www.math.wisc.edu/~afish/ Alexander Fish] <br> (Madison)
+
| bgcolor="#F0B0B0"|  [http://www-bcf.usc.edu/~guralnic/ Robert Guralnick] (University of South California)  
| bgcolor="#BCE2FE"|[[NTS Fall 2011/Abstracts#September 8 | <font color="black"><em>Solvability of Diophantine equations within dynamically defined subsets of N</em></font>]]
+
| bgcolor="#BCE2FE"|[[NTS Fall 2012/Abstracts#April19 | <font color="black"><em> TBA </em></font>]]
  
 
|}
 
|}
Line 102: Line 102:
  
 
<br>
 
<br>
 
 
  
 
== Organizer contact information ==
 
== Organizer contact information ==

Revision as of 16:49, 31 August 2011

Number Theory – Representation Theory Seminar, University of Wisconsin–Madison


Fall 2011 Semester

Date Speaker Title (click to see abstract)
September 8 (Thurs.) Alexander Fish
(Madison)
Solvability of Diophantine equations within dynamically defined subsets of N
September 15 (Thurs.) Chung Pang Mok
(McMaster)
Galois representation associated to cusp forms on GL(2) over CM fields
September 22 (Thurs.) Yifeng Liu
(Columbia U.)
Problem and Solution
September 29 (Thurs.) Nigel Boston
(Madison)
Problem and Solution
October 6 (Thurs.) Zhiwei Yun
(MIT)
Problem and Solution
October 13 (Thurs.) Melanie Matchett Wood
(Madison)
The probability that a curve over a finite field is smooth
October 20 (Thurs.) Jie Ling
(UW-Madison)
Problem and Solution
October 27 (Thurs.) Who
(from where)
Problem and Solution
November 3 (Thurs.) Zev Klagsbrun
(Madison)
Problem and Solution
November 10 (Thurs.) Luanlei Zhao
(UW-Madison)
Problem and Solution
November 17 (Thurs.) Robert Harron
(Madison)
Problem and Solution
November 24 (Thurs.) No seminar
(Thanksgiving)
Thanksgiving
December 1 (Thurs.) Andrei Calderaru
(Madison)
Problem and Solution
December 8 (Thurs.) Xinwen Zhu
(Harvard)
Problem and Solution
December 15 (Thurs.) Shamgar Gurevich
(Madison)
Quadratic reciprocity and the sign of the Gauss sum via the finite Weil representation


Spring 2012 Semester

Date Speaker Title (click to see abstract)
April 19 (Thurs.) Robert Guralnick (University of South California) TBA


Organizer contact information

Shamgar Gurevich

Robert Harron

Zev Klagsbrun

Melanie Matchett Wood



Also of interest is the Grad student seminar which meets on Tuesdays.
Next semester's seminar page is here. Last semester's seminar page is here.


Return to the Algebra Group Page