Difference between revisions of "Shimura Varieties Reading Group"

From UW-Math Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Fall 2012 Semester: switch Peng and Yueke)
(Fall 2012 Semester: ... and their titles)
Line 29: Line 29:
 
| bgcolor="#E0E0E0"| Oct 30 (Tues.)
 
| bgcolor="#E0E0E0"| Oct 30 (Tues.)
 
| bgcolor="#F0B0B0"| Peng Yu  
 
| bgcolor="#F0B0B0"| Peng Yu  
| bgcolor="#BCE2FE"| Locally symmetric varieties (Milne §3)
+
| bgcolor="#BCE2FE"| Hodge structures (Milne §2)
 
|-  
 
|-  
 
| bgcolor="#E0E0E0"| Nov 6 (Tues.)
 
| bgcolor="#E0E0E0"| Nov 6 (Tues.)
 
| bgcolor="#F0B0B0"| Yueke Hu
 
| bgcolor="#F0B0B0"| Yueke Hu
| bgcolor="#BCE2FE"| Hodge structures (Milne §2)
+
| bgcolor="#BCE2FE"| Locally symmetric varieties (Milne §3)
 
|-  
 
|-  
 
| bgcolor="#E0E0E0"| Nov 13 (Tues.)
 
| bgcolor="#E0E0E0"| Nov 13 (Tues.)

Revision as of 11:19, 15 October 2012

  • Lecture: Tuesdays, 3:45pm–4:45pm, in VV B321
  • Chitchat: Thursdays, 3:45pm 'til done, in the 9th floor lounge (except during faculty meetings).

We will be reading through Milne's Introduction to Shimura Varieties and understanding the necessary prerequisites. Participants will be asked to present on various topics.

Fall 2012 Semester

Date Speaker Topic
Oct 9 (Tues.) Sean Rostami Background on Riemannian geometry
Oct 16 (Tues.) Lalit Jain Background on Hermitian geometry
Oct 23 (Tues.) Lalit Jain Continuation / Hermitian symmetric domains
Oct 30 (Tues.) Peng Yu Hodge structures (Milne §2)
Nov 6 (Tues.) Yueke Hu Locally symmetric varieties (Milne §3)
Nov 13 (Tues.) Nathan Clement tba
Nov 20 (Tues.) tbd tba
Nov 27 (Tues.) tbd tba
Dec 4 (Tues.) tbd tba
Dec 11 (Tues.) tbd tba


Organizers

Robert Harron

Sean Rostami


Return to the Algebra Group Page