Evan Dummit's Personal Page



Main. Teaching. Personal. Sets. Handouts/Talks.

Some General Information About Me
  1. I was born on the 12th of December, 1987, in my native state of Vermont. For the moment, I live in Madison, but I will always be a Vermonter at heart.
  2. I am engaged; my fiancée's name is Kathleen.
  3. I can read Latin and French, though I can hold a conversation in neither.
  4. Among my various non-mathematical academic interests are anything about evolutionary biology (particularly population genetics), as well as U.S. constitutional law (particularly the history of reproductive rights).
  5. I enjoy playing table tennis, and watching professional hockey (go Flyers!) and tennis.
  6. I have been to Australia seven times, most recently in July 2011. It is the only foreign country I have visited, aside from Canada.
  7. I like cats.
  8. I was friends with Derek Goto, both at Caltech and in Madison, until his death.

Things I Did Before College
  1. I went to MathCounts nationals in 7th and 8th grade, and placed 53rd and 18th respectively.
  2. I attended the fabled "2002 MOP" the summer following my 9th grade year.
  3. I (along with my fiancée) graduated from Champlain Valley Union High School in 2005.
  4. In high school I took the AIME four times, and the USAMO three times.  I was a national Honorable Mention on the latter my senior year in high school.
  5. I won the University of Vermont's High School Prize Examination in Mathematics my sophomore, junior, and senior years, and I won the Vermont Math Talent Search my freshman, sophomore, and junior years. I am now a problem contributor for both competitions.
  6. I was a member of my high school's quiz bowl team for four years, and a captain for two of them.  Of those four years, we lost in the state finals three times and in the semifinals once to the eventual champion.  (It was only my fault once.)
  7. I attended Penn State ARML six times (2000-2005) as a competitor, and twice to date (2011-2012) as a coach.

Things I Did While In College
  1. I attended the California Institute of Technology (better known as Caltech) and graduated with both a BS and MS in Mathematics in 2009. I obtained the MS degree on account of having taken a sufficiently large number of course units (135) beyond the requirements of my BS degree (483).
  2. I was an honorable mention on the William Lowell Putnam exam in 2006 and 2007, and placed in the top 200 in 2005 and 2008.
  3. My Caltech House was Ruddock, and I lived in the house my freshman, sophomore, and senior years. During my junior year, I lived "off-campus" across the street in Marks House.
  4. I took care of a fairly temperamental tortoiseshell-and-white cat named Grainne for half of my sophomore year during the South Houses' renovation. She was fond of expressing her needs through random acts of minor property damage.
  5. I took care of a fairly temperamental roommate named Noah during my sophomore year, and he managed the remarkable feat of stranding me in Chicago that year, at Disneyland two years later, and then Chicago again two years after that.
  6. I successfully avoided experiencing the Pasadena summer four straight years; two years I went home to Vermont, one year I was a PROMYS counselor, and the summer after graduation I toured the western United States with my family before attending Ken Ono's REU in Number Theory at UW-Madison.
  7. My junior year, I received the Herbert J. Ryser Scholarship, for academic excellence in Mathematics.
  8. The theme of my Ditch Day stack senior year was "Myst". To everyone who participated in my stack: I'm sorry I didn't make the puzzles impossible enough.

Miscellanea:
  1. My father is one half of Dummit and Foote, the authors of the best abstract algebra textbook money can buy.
  2. I currently have the fourth-highest score in the world for the puzzle game Chip's Challenge, both on the original level pack CC1 and on the fan-generated pack CCLP2. (I currently consider myself "retired".)
  3. I throw with my left hand, and write with my right hand.  I play tennis left-handed, but I play table tennis right-handed.
  4. I do not have an active Facebook account.  I am also aware that I do not have an active Facebook account.
  5. If you look very closely, you might be able to see me walking in the background of one interstitial exterior scene in one episode of Numb3rs. You can also see most of the interior of the first floor of Ruddock house in a season 3 episode.
  6. I enjoy listening to bad European trance (is there any other kind?) as well as most any kind of electronica or rock.
  7. I play few video games, but when I do, I like to try speedrunning, as well as exploring the gameplay mechanics and attempting to do things not intended by the programmers.
  8. My taste in television includes sports, crime procedurals, adult-swim-esque animated comedies, and premium cable dramas.