Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU)

Number Theory: Arithmetic Dynamics and Modular Forms.

        Van Vleck Hall

      Madison, WI 53706

         Fax: 608 263 8891
Dates: June 5 - July 28, 2006. Reserved Room: B227 Van Vleck REU Classroom: 903 Van Vleck (reserved daily for 9:00am - Noon.

          Rafe Jones, Van Vleck Assistant Professor.
          Ken Ono, Manasse Professor of Letters and Science.
          Karl Mahlburg, NSF Graduate Fellow.
          Jeremy Rouse, NDSEG Graduate Fellow.

VIGRE Participants.
          Yaim Cooper (MIT):    Runner Up, 2007 Alice T. Schafer Prize
          Carl Erickson (Stanford University): 2007 Churchill Fellow (Cambridge)
          Richard Gottesman (Brown University)
          Alison Miller (Harvard University): 2008 Alice T. Schafer Prize Co-Winner, 2008 Churchill Fellow, 2008 Hoopes Prize (Harvard)
          Yusra Naqvi (Swarthmore College)
          Aaron Pixton (Princeton University): 2008 Churchill Fellow (Cambridge) and 2009 Morgan Prize Winner
          Brian Rice (Harvey Mudd College): 2007 Goldwater Scholar
          KwokFung Tang (University of Chicago)
          Irena Wang (Harvard University)

Other Participants and Visitors.
          Nick Wage (Appleton East High School, Wisconsin)
          David Hansen (Watchung Hills Regional High School, New Jersey)
          Daniel Kane (MIT):     2007 Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize Winner.

Their results:

Pictures from the Symposium.

Basic Information and Financial Support (.pdf file).

Brief Description of the Projects. (.pdf file).

Application Materials. (Deadline: Past).

Note: Housing will be single occupancy.

Previous REU's in Number Theory:

For information, please email Ken Ono at ono[at]