Logic Group

Faculty

  • Uri Andrews
    Research: Model Theory, Computability Theory, Computable Model Theory
    andrews@math.wisc.edu
  • Steffen Lempp
    Research: Computability Theory and Its Applications to Model Theory, Algebra, Proof Theory, and Computer Science
    lempp@math.wisc.edu
  • Joseph S. Miller
    Research: Computability Theory: Algorithmic Randomness, Reverse Mathematics, and Effective mathematics (primarily computable analysis and topology)
    jmiller@math.wisc.edu
  • Mariya Soskova
    Research: Computability Theory with Emphasis on Degree Theory and First Order Definability
    msoskova@math.wisc.edu

    Emeritus Faculty

  • H. Jerome Keisler
    Research: Model Theory and Nonstandard Analysis
    keisler@math.wisc.edu
  • Kenneth Kunen
    Research: Set Theory, General Topology, Algebra
    kunen@math.wisc.edu
  • Arnold W. Miller
    Research: Set Theory of the Real Line
    miller@math.wisc.edu

    Postdoctoral Fellow

  • Noah Schweber
    Research: Computability Theory (including reverse mathematics and computable structure theory) and set theory

    Related Faculty

  • Jin-Yi Cai
    Research: Complexity theory of Counting Problems: Classification Program for Partition Functions of Graph Homomorphisms, Spin Systems, Counting Constraint Satisfaction Problems, and Holant Problems
    jyc@cs.wisc.edu
  • Dieter van Melkebeek
    Research: Complexity Theory: Lower Bounds for NP-Complete Problems, Pseudorandomness and Derandomization, Quantum Computing
    dieter@cs.wisc.edu
  • Peter Vranas
    Research: Philosophical Logic Focusing on Imperative and Deontic Logic, also Moral Dilemmas, Time Travel, and the Implications of Situationist Psychology for Ethics
    vranas@wisc.edu

    Graduate Students

  • Tejas Bhojraj
    bhojraj@math.wisc.edu
  • Wil Cocke (advisor: Isaacs)
    cocke@math.wisc.edu
  • James Hanson
    jehanson2@wisc.edu
  • Reese Johnston (advisor: Lempp)
    rwjohnston@math.wisc.edu
  • Tamvana Makuluni (advisor: Andrews)
    makuluni@math.wisc.edu
  • Ethan McCarthy (advisor: J. Miller)
    mccarthy@math.wisc.edu
  • Patrick Nicodemus
    nicodemus@math.wisc.edu
  • Iv├ín Ongay Valverde (advisor: Kunen)
    ongay@math.wisc.edu