Department of Mathematics

Van Vleck Hall, 480 Lincoln Drive, Madison, WI

News Items

"Mathematics as a Team Sport" Article Features Autumn Kent

The article showcases a week in the life of the Oberwolfach Research Institute for Mathematics in Germany.  During that week, our own Autumn Kent was part of a group of mathematicians who visited to discuss low-dimensional topology.  


Polly Yu and Geoff Bentsen honored for teaching

Congratulations Polly Yu, our distinguished graduate student, for being selected to be a teaching fellow of L&S!

Congratulations to Geoff Bentsen for being a runner-up to this award!

Fellowship in the Teaching Academy is an honor bestowed on individuals who have demonstrated teaching excellence, are recognized and nominated by their peers, and are committed to advancing the mission of the Academy.

Putnam Exam Results for UW Undergrads Impressive

The UW has scored 15th nationwide in the annual Putnam competition.  Sivakorn Sanguanmoo received an honorable mention. Two undergrads, Sivakorn Sanguanmoo and Ruiting Tong, made the top 200. 

The William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition is the preeminent mathematics competition for undergraduate college students in the United States and Canada. 

The Putnam began in 1938 as a competition between mathematics departments at colleges and universities. Now the competition has grown to be the leading university-level mathematics examination in the world. Although participants work independently on the problems, there is a team aspect to the competition as well. 

The Putnam Competition takes place annually on the first Saturday of December. The competition consists of two 3-hour sessions, one in the morning and one in the afternoon. During each session, participants work individually on 6 challenging mathematical problems.


Former UW Professor Wins AMS Bergman Prize

Former UW Math Professor Franc Forstnerič (1990-2001) has been awarded one of the 2019 Stefan Bergman prizes of the American Mathematical Society.

Franc Forstnerič is awarded the Bergman Prize for his many contributions to several complex variables (SCV), as well as complex geometry and geometric analysis. He is being recognized for his foundational work on mapping problems for domains in complex spaces and more general complex manifolds, approximation theory in SCV, the development of the Oka principle, and complex analysis methods in the theory of minimal surfaces.



Alumna becomes next President of MAA

Jennifer (Massey) Quinn, (Ph.D., 1993, Brualdi) has been elected as the next President of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA).  She is currently with the University of Washington Tacoma. She was elected president-elect and will begin her term Feb. 1, 2020, and will serve as president during 2021- 2022, and past president in 2023. 



UW-Madison Department of Mathematics
Van Vleck Hall
480 Lincoln Drive
Madison, WI  53706

(608) 263-3054

Contact Us

Got a question about
accessibility, content
or structure of this website?



Privacy and copyright statement: Privacy Notice 

© 2019 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System