Applied/ACMS

From UW-Math Wiki
Revision as of 13:10, 10 March 2011 by Rossmani (talk | contribs) (Spring 2011 Semester)
Jump to: navigation, search
  • When: Fridays at 2:25pm
  • Where: 901 Van Vleck Hall


Spring 2011 Semester

Date Speaker Title (click to see abstract) Host
Special Time
Jan. 27 (Thursday 4:30pm, 901 Van Vleck)
Cynthia Vinzant,
UC Berkeley
The central curve in linear programming Gheorghe Craciun
Mathematics Colloqium
Jan. 28 (Friday at 4pm, B239 Van Vleck)
Marcus Roper,
UC Berkeley
Modeling microbial cooperation Paul Milewski
Feb. 4 (Friday) József Farkas,
University of Stirling, Scotland
Analysis of a size-structured cannibalism model with infinite dimensional environmental feedback James Rossmanith
*** Special Room ***
Feb. 11 (Friday)
B239 Van Vleck
Tatiana Márquez-Lago ,
ETH-Zurich
Stochastic models in systems and synthetic biology Paul Milewski
Feb. 18 (Friday) Ari Stern ,
UC San Diego
Geometric variational crimes: Hilbert complexes, finite element exterior calculus, and problems on hypersurfaces Paul Milewski
Feb. 25 (Friday) Jian-Guo Liu,
Duke University
Dynamics of orientational alignment and phase transition Shi Jin
Mathematics Colloqium
March 4 (Friday at 4pm, B239 Van Vleck)
Jeff Weiss,
University of Colorado, Boulder
Nonequilibrium statistical mechanics and climate variability Jean-Luc Thiffeault
March 25 (Friday) Tim Reluga,
Penn State University
Accounting for individual and community interests in the public-health management of infectious diseases James Rossmanith
March 30 (Wednesday) Yuri Lvov,
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
TBA Leslie Smith
UW Faculty Lecture
April 1 (Friday)
Alex Kiselev,
UW-Madison (Mathematics)
Biomixing by chemotaxis and enhancement of biological reactions Local
April 6 (Wednesday) Gerardo Hernández-Dueñas,
University of Michigan
Shallow water flows in channels James Rossmanith
April 8 (Friday) Anne Gelb,
Arizona State University
TBA Shi Jin
Mathematics Colloqium
April 15 (Friday at 4pm, B239 Van Vleck)
Max Gunzburger,
Florida State University
TBA James Rossmanith
April 22 (Friday) Vageli Coutsias,
University of New Mexico
TBA Julie Mitchell
April 27 (Wednesday) Michael Holst,
UC San Diego
TBA Shi Jin
April 29 (Friday) Smadar Karni,
University of Michigan
TBA James Rossmanith


Organizer contact information

Sign.jpg


How to join the ACMS mailing list

See mailing list website


Archived semesters



Return to the Applied Mathematics Group Page